header-image

Common Mistakes in Writing Dialogue and How to Avoid Them

15:00 EST - Apr 03, 2024

Ggkp6ahoph8 Video Thumb
Tracy Gold Avatar

Tracy Gold

Tracy Gold is an editor, writer, and teacher who loves helping writers realize their visions for their stories. She edits children's books, literary and genre fiction, and memoir.


No matter what you're writing, great dialogue will make your project stand out. Bad dialogue will make it stick out like a sore thumb! In this webinar, we'll cover how to avoid common mistakes that keep dialogue from flowing smoothly. This guidance applies to fiction, non-fiction, picture books--any writing that involves dialogue! Examples of what we'll be covering include: 

  • How to spot when characters are telling each other information they should already know 
  • How to use paragraph spacing for pacing and clarity 
  • How to know when to use dialogue tags and what kind of dialogue tags to use

Come away from this webinar feeling more confident and secure in your ability to write realistic, compelling dialogue. 


Wednesday, April 3, 2024 at Noon Pacific • 3 pm Eastern • 8 pm London • 12:30 am Mumbai • 3 am HK • 5 am Sydney*

SET A REMINDER (GCal)

*Note: For a.m. timings, the live stream will take place on the morning of Thursday 4th

Similar Writing and Editing events
Reedsy | Default

Bring your publishing dreams to life

The world's best freelance editors, designers, and marketers are on Reedsy. Sign up for free and meet them TODAY.

Reedsy Marketplace UI

1 million authors trust the professionals on Reedsy. Come meet them.

Enter your email or get started with a social account: